One of the benefits of giving birth in the depths of Winter is that your journey through parenthood chimes nicely with the changing seasons. The first couple of months is all about recovery and hibernation – perfectly timed during Jan and Feb. In those grey chilly months, who wants to leave the house anyway? Wrapped in the warmth of the mother-baby cocoon, the outside world melts away, as you care for each other and recover from the physical trauma of birth.

Before you know it, Spring has sprung. You emerge, blinking in the sunlight, feeling ready to embrace the world, but also mildly conscious that your midriff resembles a deflated balloon with a road map of London on it.

However confident you are, however comfortable you are in your own skin, giving birth will give your body image something of a battering. As a pregnant woman you were the glowing epitome of beauty. As a new Mum you are the epitome of “slightly dishevelled”, complete with over-sized leaking boobs, a wobbly tummy, dark under-eye bags and outfits chosen at random in an effort to leave the house on time.

Now, perhaps I’m guilty of a little vanity here, but I kinda miss walking down the street with a “I know I look hot today” swagger. It’s not about looking good for anyone else, it’s about feeling great in myself (though it’s been a while since my Husband bought me flowers for no reason.. y’know, just saying).

As the celebrity fitness instructor/wife of the bloke from Desperate Housewives/great philosopher Erin O’Brien once said “Mental and physical health are inseparable”. Therefore, it’s time to feel the burn, work it and (insert further exercise video clichés here..).

With a low cringe threshold I’m not normally an exercise DVD kinda gal, but I have really enjoyed doing Erin’s pre and post natal workout sessions. Both are well designed and leave me feeling energised. Just ignore her patronising advice on post-natal nutrition. “Now ladies, I want to erase two things from your vocabulary – I’d like fries with that and can I see the dessert menu (complete with extra patronising big red cross visuals). Now I know, being pregnant was the first time in your adult life that you weren’t on a diet..”.

Excuse me? Does Mrs LA Celebrity seriously think that normal women spend their entire adult lives counting calories? And more importantly, why should pregnancy be deemed as a lovely break from healthy eating? The subtext seems to be that supporting your baby nutritionally is less important than what you look like. You look fat anyway when you’re pregnant, so who cares what you eat. Never mind that you actually need more calories to sustain your breastfed baby once out of the womb. OK, rant over.

So, I’ve bought an industrial strength sports vest to ensure I don’t knock myself unconscious while jogging the pram round my local park. I am doing Erin’s post-natal workout. I am dragging myself to the park for Buggy Bootcamp classes every Tuesday morning (doing Pelvic Floor exercises while staring up at a clear sunny sky isn’t a bad way to start the day). I am doing all this because I want to feel great. I am doing all this, Erin, because I will be having fries with that, and I am going to see the dessert menu.

