Parenting is instinctive. If I were to never read a parenting book in my life, I would still be a perfectly fine parent, and my daughter would become a well-rounded individual. They are entirely unnecessary, and I love them.

Just to qualify that a little – I don’t love all of them. I’m not a fan of any one-size-fits-all “follow these magical steps” style guidance. No-one should ever be a slave to restrictive programmes prescribed by self appointed parenting gurus. All babies and families are different, and parents should never go against their natural judgement.

The kind of books I do like do any of the following – share the experience and wisdom of other parents to inspire me with ideas I might not have thought of by myself, increase my understanding of child development or just give me a new perspective to inform my own thoughts on parenting.

Like diving into a pick ‘n’ mix sweet selection, I will load myself up with the stuff that looks good, and just ignore the stuff that doesn’t. Primed with my bag of ideas, I will put down the books, go forth and parent.

In between the bus-related anecdotes I will also start including some book reviews in this blog. If you’re also partial to a parenting tome, then this might help you decide whether to read the books in question. Or it might be enough to give you the gist so you don’t have to. I will try and be as unbiased as possible, although a little of my own beliefs on parenting will inevitably seep through. At this point I may as well fess up and admit that while I don’t subscribe to any one specific school of parenting, I’m at the more hippy-dippy end of the scale. I’m generally a fan of letting my baby set the pace of her development and routines, and would like to provide gentle support as she finds her own way towards adulthood.

Coming up first will be a review of “The Continuum Concept” by Jean Liedloff..

